Republic of the Sudan

Published May 1, 2008

Area: 2.5 million sq. km.; the largest country in Africa; about the size of Ontario and Quebec combined
Cities: Capital: Khartoum /Omdurman, Port Sudan, Juba (capital of South Sudan), Wau, Rumbek, Yei
Population: (2005 est.): 39.3 million
Ethnic groups: estimated about 500 different ethnic groups, including Arabs/ Arabized, Nuba, Nubians, Beja, Fur, Dinka, Nuer.
Religions: Islam (official and predominant in the North), African traditional religions, Christianity
Languages: Arabic, English, ethnic languages.
Government: Provisional Government (Government of National Unity-GoNU) established by the Comprehensive Peace Agreement


Related Posts

Skip to content