Synod elects officers

Published July 3, 2007

Rev. Stephen Andrews, the president and vice-chancellor of Thorneloe University in Sudbury, Ont., was elected prolocutor of General Synod on the fourth ballot. The prolocutor is chief deputy to the primate and second executive officer.

He was one of four officers of the church elected or appointed at the meeting of General Synod.

Mr. Andrews, formerly rector St. Alban’s Cathedral in Prince Albert, Sask., and dean of Saskatchewan diocese, joined Thorneloe in 2001. A theologian by training, Mr. Andrews was a member of the team that presented the Canadian church’s view on same-sex blessings to the Anglican Consultative Council in 2005.

Robert Falby, chancellor (legal officer) of the diocese of Toronto, was elected deputy prolocutor of General Synod. The deputy prolocutor assists the prolocutor. Mr. Falby is a Toronto lawyer and has served the church at the national level for more than a decade. He was a key negotiator of the native residential schools settlement agreement with the federal government, which limited church liability. He is also a member of the Anglican Communion Legal Advisors’ Network.

Two other officers-at-large were also elected: Archdeacon Larry Beardy, of the diocese of Keewatin, and Lela Zimmer, of the Anglican Parishes of the Central Interior.

Council of General Synod 2007-2010

The membership of the Council of General Synod (CoGS), the church’s governing body between meetings of General Synod, is as follows:

Ecclesiastical Province of Canada
Bishop Percy Coffin, Bishop Claude Miller
Archdeacon John Dinn, Archdeacon Dennis Drainville
Margaret Jenniex, Dion Lewis, Capt. Robert Marsh,
Peter Townsend
Jeffrey Petten

Ecclesiastical Province of Ontario
Bishop Colin Johnson, Archbishop Caleb Lawrence
Archdeacon Harry Huskins, Rev. Michael Thompson
Judy Darling, Dorothy Davies-Flindall, Suzanne Lawson, Paul Rathbone
Garcia Robinson

Ecclesiastical Province of Rupert’s Land
Bishop Anthony Burton, Bishop Gregory Kerr-Wilson, Bishop Victoria Matthews
Archdeacon Larry Beardy, Canon James Robinson
Lizzie Epoo-York, Freda Lepine, Eric Parsons, Ross Whitelaw, Chris Wood
Dean Sewap

Ecclesiastical Province of British Columbia & Yukon
Bishop Michael Ingham
Canon John Alfred Steele, Rev. Lee Titterington
Dr. Randall Fairey, Bonnie Harper, Lela Zimmer
Matt Koovisk

Anglican Military Ordinariate of Canada
Col. Archdeacon Karl McLean

Primate: Archbishop Fred Hiltz
Prolocutor: Rev. Stephen Andrews
Deputy Prolocutor: Robert Falby
General Secretary: Archdeacon Michael Pollesel
Chancellor: Ronald Stevenson
ELCIC Partner: To be decided
Episcopal Church: Canon Petero Sabune
PWRDF Representative: Rev. Ed Lewis


Keep on reading

Skip to content