Five marks, four instruments

Anglican Communion logo. Image: ACNS
Published March 1, 2023

The Five Marks of Mission, debated and refined over the decades since they were first introduced in 1984, are meant both to describe and encourage Anglican ministry in the Communion. They are:

  1. To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
  2. To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
  3. To respond to human need by loving service
  4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation
  5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

The Instruments of Communion represent the unity of Anglicans worldwide. They do not have executive or legislative authority over the churches of the Communion, but function as tools of communication and cooperation. They are:

  1. The Archbishop of Canterbury: The spiritual leader of the Anglican Communion
  2. The Lambeth Conference: A once-per-decade meeting of bishops from around the world to discuss local and global issues and responses
  3. The Anglican Consultative Council: A body composed of representatives from clergy and laity from member churches who develop policy and advise on the communion’s global mission
  4. The Primate’s Meeting: A convention of leaders from national churches convened by the Archbishop of Canterbury for consultation and prayer on ministry and global and local issues


  • Sean Frankling

    Sean Frankling’s experience includes newspaper reporting as well as writing for video and podcast media. He’s been chasing stories since his first co-op for Toronto’s Gleaner Community Press at age 19. He studied journalism at Carleton University and has written for the Toronto Star, WatchMojo and other outlets.

Related Posts

Skip to content