First Nation diocese in 2014

Published September 1, 2012

Bishop Lydia Mamakwa Photo: Courtesy of Sagatay

In the fulfilment of an aspiration long held by indigenous Anglicans in the north, the ecclesiastical province of Rupert’s Land is poised to have a new diocese by 2014.

The 47th session of the provincial synod, held in Brandon, Man., June 7 to 10, unanimously approved a resolution from the diocese of Keewatin to divide the diocese and create a fully independent indigenous diocese from the portion known as the northern Ontario region.

“We have been walking together and now we are dancing together,” said the Rev. Wayne McIntosh, rector of St. John the Baptist Anglican Church in Fort Frances, Ont., after seconding the motion at the synod. The region’s current bishop, the Rt. Rev. Lydia Mamakwa, will head the diocese.

Two-thirds of the diocese lies in First Nation parishes, and five languages are spoken there: Cree, Oji-Cree, English, Ojibway and Dene.

Many diocesan clergy and lay people speak at least two languages on a daily basis.


  • Diana Swift

    Diana Swift is an award-winning writer and editor with 30 years’ experience in newspaper and magazine editing and production. In January 2011, she joined the Anglican Journal as a contributing editor.

Related Posts

Skip to content